Expounding Upon Resolutions: Part Three

Continuing along at a break-neck pace (note: sarcasm) with the past few posts I have made, I will now attempt to expound upon my intention of my third resolution for my own edification and in hopes that the Lord will use this in a matter that would benefit at least one person other myself. So, what exactly did I resolve to do?

“Resolved, to endeavor by the power of the Holy Spirit to glorify God in all that I say and do.”

I have made a clarification in the past regarding this topic, but I will make it again for the purpose of consistency; the phrase ‘. . .by the power of the Holy Spirit. . .’ is crucial in my understanding of everything I aim for in life because I am a Trinitarian and I believe that the whole God-head is involved in the full scope of redemption, and (though I hate to use this terminology, it is Biblical terminology) the power of the person of the Holy Spirit is essential in redemption in regards to glorifying God, the mortification of sin, and the all around living daily life as a member of God’s universal church (amongst many other things). I truly do believe that the indwelling and outpouring of the Holy Spirit is so necessary that without Him, nothing beneficial will be accomplished.

So with the aforementioned presupposition, I move onto the phrase ‘. . .to glorify God in all that I say and do.’ With the glorifying of the Tri-une God in view, is it then possible to make application to thought, word, and deed in daily life; though I fail time and time again, through the Scriptures and the congruent work of the Lord in my life I am persistently reminded and encouraged to seek that which glorifies Him. Within our melting pot of different cultures, one thing emerges in ‘church’ culture (at least ’round these parts); the compartmentalization and/or false dichotomy of sacred and secular. It may be true that there are sometimes differing things that are appropriate in different spheres of our lives, but this quote from Abraham Kuyper sums up my view rather succinctly;

“Oh, no single piece of our mental world is to be hermetically sealed off from the rest, and there is not a square inch in the whole domain of our human existence over which Christ, who is Sovereign over all, does not cry: ‘Mine!'”

Christ is King over all spheres of life, and to try and glorify Him in one and not the other is not synonymous with appropriateness, but instead with cowardice. If Christ is truly King over all and we truly believe to be united with His plan and mission of redemption, how could we justify not applying the mentality of glorifying and preaching Him in our everyday lives? When I have a beer on my porch with friends, is Christ not King there? Should I not be intentional in my thoughts, words, and deeds in that instance, since it may be uncomfortable? These are clearly rhetorical questions; ‘by no means!’ is the proper answer. By the power of the Holy Spirit, I aim to have the Gospel of Christ on the forefront of my mind and heart whether I be at church, driving down the street, with friends, at work, having coffee, at a pub, or simply enjoying the company of another. Am I perfect at this, or even good at this? Absolutely not; but I do endeavor by the full power of God, the Creator and sustenance of all things to grow in and towards this, that He may be glorified, that I grow in joy through Him, and that others may find the same joy.

“Every Christian is either a missionary, or an imposter.”
-Charles H. Spurgeon

Soli Deo Gloria
-Wesley

Leave a Reply

